Forever Autumn

In 2007, as the writer for an animal welfare organization, I was looking for a pet family whose story would resonate with donors. When I wandered into the nursery department in search of my literary star, I never suspected that I would find the future center of my universe.

D Pups_smallFour fuzzy jewels squeaked and squealed and competed for my attention.

IMG_6665 (Large)IMG_6667 (Large)And while I could barely contain my own cries of pure puppy zeal, I found myself looking past the tiny creatures toward a glorious golden vision of beauty. I named her Autumn; for her gorgeous coat, which had been tainted by life’s tribulations, resembled the splendor of Fall.

SONY DSCHer babes tried to steal the spotlight, but their mother’s eyes, which told a story of fear and hope, touched my soul, and I knew I couldn’t stop myself from loving her.

SONY DSCI knew my heart would beat forever Autumn.

SONY DSC

1 thought on “Forever Autumn

Leave a comment